Be Prepared When You Travel

packing list for travel

Have you ever gone on a trip and forgot something you really needed? When I travel it’s always work and leisure combined so usually when I pack it’s my business items that get first priority (Iphone, Ipad, etc) and my personal items take second priority. I find that I rely so heavily on my iphone reminders app for business, that I often neglect to include the everyday things that I need in my personal. Can you relate?

The last trip I went on, I thought I was prepared. Usually I only pack the night before but this time, I was so excited about going to the island, that I packed 4 days ahead. I thought I would do things differently this time and pack my business attire with my daughters things and pack a separate suitcase just for my clothes.

I packed up my daughter’s clothing and toys, got the cooler out and packed the groceries in it, loaded up the bicycles, made sandwiches for the ferry, called the alarm company, put on the house lights, changed the entry code, and everything else that made common sense.

On the departure day, I managed to make it on time for the early ferry, walked up on deck and pulled out my Ipad so my daughter could play some apps on the way over. We had a snack and then it finally dawned on me that something was missing in our truck.

It was in a split second that I realized that my suitcase with my clothes was sitting on the top of the stairs in the living room. I just about died. This has never happened to me before ever! I completely freaked out. I had everything packed. Absolutely any and every thing I would need on this trip except my clothes. How embarrassing!

Well there was nothing I could do at that point. I was on the ferry boat and there was no turning back. I knew I could always get more clothes and it turned out it was a super great excuse to buy some new clothes for myself so it wasn’t so bad and thank goodness I was only gone for 5 days! It could have been worse. That day I learned my lesson and realized that anything can happen when you are going away, and it’s best to not to always rely on apps and sometimes it’s just better to get write it all down.

Next time, I am going to make a list. I am going to type it out, post it on my front door and check it off as I am loading up my vehicle and heading out the door. I thought I was an experience traveler but mistakes can happen so it’s best to be prepared. If you need a good reference for a check list, feel free to check out this travel list below. Enjoy!

Must Have Checklist

2 thoughts on “Be Prepared When You Travel

    • Hi Rahul, not a problem. You are welcome. Your work is inspiring and a good read. Thanks for the blessings, I sure can use them right now and always. Blessings to you also.

Leave a Reply

