Time for Some Travel Therapy?

relax and travelIf you are feeling down and out, stressed out about life, and overwhelmed with everything around you, it may be time for a get-away.

Now, I don’t mean quit your day job. I just think you should either do something spontaneous or plan a holiday so you have something to look forward to. Traveling helps to relieve stress.

Don’t have any money? That’s okay. You don’t have to go far. Try going somewhere local just for a change of pace.

When I was in my twenties, I was in school, working two jobs, paying bills and yadda yadda. Sometimes, I would work so hard I would run myself ragged and burn out.

I would feel like I couldn’t keep up with all of the demands of life, would literally throw my hands in the air and yell “I give up”. Then of course I would go through the routine “Woe is me, poor me, life is so hard ” drama and then in an instant I would snap out of it. How? By remembering what I really needed deep down inside – – to get away.

So that’s just what I did. I would pack up a small bag with some toiletries and clothing, hop in my car and off I went. Simply put, I needed new sights and sounds.

I never knew where I was going to end up, but I just went where my heart took me. Sometimes it was just a few miles away for a stroll in the park, sometimes it was just heading over to a friend’s house to have some laughs and crash for the night but the best times were went I actually did the travel thing.

Yes, I would drive until I found a place that looked inviting and stop in. I would sit in a hotel lobby to people and watch people check in and check out and they all seemed so damn happy. Yes, happy and not a home dealing with every day life, that’s why.

hotels-and-resorts-bcSometimes, I would just go and check in myself to that same hotel for some R & R. I would treat myself to dinner, get acquainted with the staff and to my room for some dessert by room service, rent a movie, soak in the tub, relax, and imagine that I was a million a miles away. I was in another world so where did I have time to be worried about my own life?

Many people don’t realize it but just changing your environment, even for a day or two can really be therapeutic. I could never imagine life without getting out there and seeing new things. If I could send every person who was feeling sad and depressed on a trip to somewhere beautiful, take them for a walk on the ocean, I really would.

People need a break. We were not meant to just keep doing the same thing over and over. We need to explore. It’s good for the senses. It is good for your mental health.

We are all working so hard, trying to climb the career ladder, trying to keep up with the Jones’s when all we have to do is stop, look and listen to the world around us. I know it sounds cliche but it is true. I get a rush every time I book a vacation or an excursion or go somewhere I have never been before. It is truly and adventure and it make you think about life and shows you that there is so much out there in this world to do and discover than to sit back and feel depressed.

The next time you are feeling overwhelmed, stressed or sad, walk out your front door. Visit a local spa, take a walk in the park or book a night in a snazzy hotel and treat yourself to something great. Make sure to tell me about it when you do!

Leave a Reply

